My Scores from NATS


I received my scores from my NATS competition recently. Basically how it works- there are 3 judges in the room and they each take notes and give you a number score in a range. Most of my comments were what I expected as I know my problem areas, but what I didn’t expect or realize was I received compliments. My voice teacher was also judging that day and had a break when I was up, so she came down to watch. Her thumb was ice covered it was so bruised from taking comment & scores. With that said she explained that there’s such a limited time to get down what they need to, to give a compliment is rare as it takes up that time. Not to mention when you have to ice your thumb from writing so often and quickly, they only try to hit the important parts. The important parts are generally meant to be more constructive. I was told I have very fine Italian and that I have an enjoyable and  warm voice. While on some level I realize these things, it was really accomplishing to hear it from two other voice teachers. I hope my voice teacher was rather proud as she’s really my whole vocal world and what made me capable of even doing what I did in that competition. Thanks Michelle.

As for my numerical scores… these are a little tricky… I averaged overall in the above average category, but my scores were 75, 81, and 85. Scores are out of a 100.  The scale is 90-100= Excellent, 80-89= Above Average, 70-79= Average, and it goes down from there, so basically to get in the seventies and up is decent or better. 😀 Another note to measure this accomplishment by- I was in the advanced classical group, generally this group is comprised of student going after master or doctorate degrees in music. You also have to have a minimum of four years of training. For me this is just an advanced life passion, not a career, but this is what I was up against.

I did marginally better than my peer in my studio.  She went on just before me and I felt looked far less nervous, but we had consistent scores which means our judges were consistent as is our teacher, pretty cool in my book.

At any rate, next up Spring Recital. I heard its formal…. men in tuxes and women in gowns. I guess I should hurry up and get my gown dry cleaned, or drop money on a new one?!? lol

2 thoughts on “My Scores from NATS

Leave a Reply

